To Jacob, On His First Birthday

This is my latest short story, for my creative writing course this semester. We're workshopping it in class Thursday. Any feedback would be appreciated! :):

Dear Jacob,

It is hard to know where to begin this letter. If I'm to be honest with you and in turn, with myself, this letter is one I've begun, but failed to complete, many times and in many vastly different ways over the course of the past year. Doing what I do for a living, I have drafted many a letter. I've written to dignitaries, Presidents, even royalty. But in all those years, one letter I have never written is the kind of letter I am struggling to compose now: A letter to my son.

My son. My God, is it difficult to write that, both in the knowledge of your existence ..and of the fact that you are mine. You were not part of the plan. I say this to you not to be cold or unfeeling. Jacob, I feel so much. There has not passed a day, since I received the news of your birth, that you have not crossed my mind in some way. I would love nothing more than to take you in my arms, to claim you as my own. But there was–and remains–no room for you, the concept and the consequence of you, in my life.

You’re most likely asking: Why bother? Why are you even writing to me if that is the case? I would not blame you one iota if at this point, you feel compelled to take this letter and shred it to pieces. You would be justified in that response. But I humbly ask that you keep reading.